Ssroc Power Purchase Agreement

The SSROC PPA follows similar agreements regarding a fixed supply of renewable energy, which was provided by Origin to the University of NSW and Sydney Airport. Under the agreement, 20 councils will purchase a fixed amount of renewable electricity and related environmental certificates from Moree Solar Farm at a fixed price, with Origin supplying the rest of the grid`s electricity. Moree Solar Farm is owned by Fotowatio Renewable Ventures (FRV). In 2016, Origin agreed to award all of Moree Solar Farm`s renewable energy under a 15-year contract. In a Power Purchase Agreement (PPA) group led by the Southern Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils (SSROC), Origin will provide councils with solar electricity from the 56 MW Moree Solar farm in northern NSW. Partner Anna Collyer commented on the agreement, saying the AAE showed that there was flexibility in the market to negotiate better electricity deals. “The agreement also gives councils the opportunity to turn to the market again in three years to change the way they consolidate or increase their use of renewable energy.” SSROC wanted cheap renewables and we structured an agreement that gives these boards moree Solar Farm`s solar electricity during the day and fixed production at other times to meet the demand 24 hours a day. Mr Allens advised the Southern Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils (SSROC) on its long-term achanion contract (AAE) with Origin Energy. Origin will provide solar power to 20 Sydney City Councils in the new Renewable Energy Agreement, which will cover up to 35% of their needs. Solar energy will also be enhanced by electricity generated from other sources such as state-of-the-art gas plants and will ensure that councils have a reliable supply when the sun sets.

Allens is a law firm operating throughout Australia and Asia. Through its integrated alliance with Linklaters, it provides customers with access to 40 offices in 28 countries around the world. SSROC President and Mayor of Burwood Council, Councillor John Faker, said: “This is a great success for local government. Councils will save money, reduce their risks and reduce their CO2 emissions. The renewable energy sector in NSW will also have a desperately needed boost. Greg Jarvis, Executive General Manager, said: “An increasing number of customers are actively choosing renewable energy and we can pool wind or solar with a fixed generation that gives them certainty about supply and costs. Thanks to the AAE, the councils have ensured their electricity supply until 2030, which includes a fixed volume of renewable electricity at a fixed price. The 20 participating councils are Bayside, Campbelltown, Canada Bay, Canterbury-Bankstown, Georges River, Hunters Hill, Inner West, Ku-Ring Gai, Lane Cove, Liverpool, Mosman, North Sydney, Parramatta, Randwick, Ryde, Singleton, Sutherland Shire, Waverley, Willoughby and Woollahra.